Advisory Board

External Advisory Board

Richard N. Foster

Dr. Foster is the Managing Partner at Millbrook Management Group and the former Director of McKinsey & Company. Dick’s specialities include analysis of the healthcare sector and pharmaceutical industries. Among his accomplishments is service on the Council of Foreign Relations, Santa Fe Institute and co-char of the Presidents’ Circle for the National Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine.

Gunda Georg

Dr. Georg leads the Department of Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Minnesota.  Her specialties include the design and synthesis of pharmaceuticals. Among her accomplishments are recognition as Editor in Chief of the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, inventor of the FDA-approved drug Lusedra and many other medicines currently in clinical trials.

R. Kiplin Guy

Dr. Guy is the Dean of Pharmacy at the University of Kentucky. His specialties include rare and neglected pediatric infectious diseases and peptide chemistry. His accomplishments include the successful repurposing of existing drugs for pediatric cancers and infectious diseases.

Thomas Melzer

Mr. Melzer is the founder and managing director of RiverVest Venture Partners, which emphasizes investment in life science innovations. As a former President and CEO of Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis and member of the Federal Open Market Committee, had the distinction of directly influencing monetary policy.

Philip Needleman

Dr. Needleman is the former head of research and development at Monsanto and Searle.  Phil is well-known to the WashU community (as a former faculty member) and his many accomplishment include the co-discovery of COX-2 as a therapeutic target in general and the development of Celebrex in particular.

William Peck

Dr. Peck is the former Dean of Medicine at Washington University in St Louis. Bill is known for his advocacy to address social disparities in access to health care, including the addressing market needs for new medicines. Among his accomplishments are the building of the Siteman Cancer Center and the founding president of the National Osteoporosis Foundation.

Scott Weir

Dr. Weir leads the Institute for Advancing Medical Innovation at the University of Kansas. Scott’s research interests include clinical pharmacology and pharmacokinetics. Among his accomplishments are the creation of the Institute for Advancing Medical Innovation and service on the NCATS Advisory Council.


Internal Advisory Board

William Buhro

Dr. Buhro is the chair of the Department of Chemistry. Bill’s specialties include synthetic inorganic and materials chemistry. His accomplishments include being elected a Fellow of the American Chemical Society and Editor of the journal, Chemistry of Materials

Douglas Covey

Dr. Covey is a Professor of Developmental Biology and Biochemistry. Doug’s specialties include the medicinal chemistry and biology of neuroactive steroids. His accomplishments include founding SAGE Therapeutics and awards from the American Chemical Society.

George Gokel

Dr. Gokel is the Director of the Center for Nanoscience at the University of Missouri, St Louis (UMSL). George’s specialties include synthetic ion channels and novel chemistry to create molecular capsules and nanotubes. His accomplishments include election to the UMSL Distinguished Professorship.

Kevin Moeller

Dr. Moeller is a Professor in the Department of Chemistry. Kevin’s expertise includes addressable molecular libraries and electrochemistry. His accomplishments include being elected a Member of the Executive Committee for the Organic and Biological Electrochemistry Division of The Electrochemical Society.

Kelle Moley

Dr. Moley is Co-Director of the Institute of Clinical and Translational Sciences (ICTS). Kellers specialties include glucose transporters and understanding the effects of maternal diabetes and obesity on reproduction. Her accomplishments include being named vice chair for basic science research and director of the Fellowship Program in Reproductive Endocrinology.

Peter Ruminski

Dr. Ruminski is Executive Director of the Center for World Health and Medicine at St Louis University. Pete’s specialties include the translation of basic research into viable drug candidates for rare and neglected diseases. His accomplishments include the identification of novel drugs for rare diseases and the co-founding of Antegrin Therapeutics.

Gary Silverman

Dr. Silverman is the chair of the Department of Pediatrics. Gary’s specialties include emphasis on newborn medicine, especially the treatment of genetic defects in premature and critically ill infants. His accomplishments include the development of new medicines for pediatric genetic diseases.

Christina Stallings

Dr. Stallings is an Assistant Professor of Molecular Microbiology. Christina’s specialties include the molecular pathogenesis of mycobacteria. Her accomplishments include election as the Division Officer and Chair of the Mycobacteriology Division of the American Society for Microbiology.